Hosting trainees

Our award-winning Graduate Management Training Scheme has produced inspirational NHS leaders since 1956. Notable alumni include Simon Stevens; current Chief Executive of NHS England, and Peter Homa CBE; Chairman of the NHS Leadership Academy.

It’s fair to say the opportunities we create are life-defining for the graduates we recruit. And now more than ever, our leaders will be tasked with redefining the NHS. Every trainee you host at your organisation has the potential to solve huge challenges and raise the profile of leaders in health.

The future of the NHS relies on strong leadership and clear direction. By hosting a trainee, you can help us nurture the next generation of senior management talent, developing excellent, passionate and ambitious leaders with all the knowledge and qualities to redefine what is possible, across your organisation and the whole NHS.

How it works

The Scheme is unique, unrivalled and prestigious. It combines successful leadership strategies from international healthcare and private sector organisations, along with academic expert content.

Fast-tracking graduates who want to develop their career within the health service, it provides mentoring, support and high-quality non-clinical training over approximately two years. Giving trainees the chance to become successful leaders in the NHS, it’s crucial in sustaining the NHS talent pipeline.

There are six areas:

• Finance Management
• General Management
• Health Analysis
• Health Informatics Management
• Human Resources Management
• Policy and Strategy Management

Each trainee specialises in one of these. They also undertake two placements with host organisations. At the same time, they complete a PGDip in Healthcare Leadership and can gain additional professional qualifications within their specialist area.

How to get involved

If your organisation is interested in hosting a trainee, contact your Local Leadership Academy for more information.

Regional area Contact name Email address
East Midlands Pamela Smith-Falls pamela.smith-falls@nottshc.nhs.uk
East of England Wendy Parry wendy.parry@nhs.net
Kent, Surrey and Sussex Sarah Swan sarah.swan@hee.nhs.uk
London Keith Whitburn graduateenquiries.lase@hee.nhs.uk
North East Claire Carrick claire.carrick@nhs.net
North West Grainne McClean nwla.gmtsnw@nhs.net
South West John Monahan
Kate Westcott
john.monahan@hee.nhs.uk
kate.westcott@hee.nhs.uk
Thames Valley and Wessex Fiona Rodden fiona.rodden@hee.nhs.uk
West Midlands Clare Dallaway
Sarah Louise Grantham
clare.dallaway@hee.nhs.uk
Sarah-louise.grantham@hee.nhs.uk
Yorkshire and the Humber Grace Jeffrey grace.jeffrey@hee.nhs.uk